Posted by: renaissancerebecca | October 8, 2009

Why jump out of a perfectly good airplane?

Because there are plenty of things that I only want to try once, and this was one of them.  It wasn’t like it was something I had wanted to do for a long time.  In fact, I hadn’t given it much thought at all until the day a co-worker said “a bunch of us are going skydiving next month if you want to come.”

I checked the date, had nothing else going on that day, and so said yes.

So on a Thursday night in September of 2007, I sent an e-mail out to my four siblings.  I told them my plans for the next morning, and told them that in case something went wrong I wanted them each to know what I liked most about them.

And on Friday morning, I joined my co-workers at 13,000 feet and jumped – with a guy on my back who pulled all the necessary cords to get us down safely.

There are two parts to a jump as far as I’m concerned: the free fall, and then the part where the parachute is out.  During the free fall, I felt like I was going to throw up.  We’d talked about this before we left the ground, and I was told it rarely happens.  But there I was thinking “oh, this poor guy on my back is going to have to watch me vomit.”  Thankfully, it didn’t happen.  After what seemed like an eternity, he let out the parachute.  We slowed down, and the without the wind rushing past my face I could actually talk to the guy.  When he asked if I was okay, I lied and told  him I was fine.  What could he do for me anyway?

On the ground, I confessed my illness during the freefall.  I was told it was because I was dehydrated.  I believed it until I watched the DVD of my jump.  During the free fall, the guy on my back spun me around eight times!

That DVD came in handy when I stopped at my parents house after the jump.  My dad had watched me jump, and I wanted to show mom the footage.  My brother was sitting on the front porch when I arrived.

“Hey.  What are you up to?” he asked.

“I jumped out of a plane this morning,” I told him.

“You did not!” he said.

“Yeah I did – didn’t you get my email?”

“What e-mail?” he asked.

“You didn’t read your e-mail last night?”

“No – did I miss something?”

“Yeah – I jumped out of a plane this morning, and wrote you guys an e-mail last night telling you what I loved about you in case I died.”

“You did not!” he repeated.

“Yes I did!  I have the DVD – you wanna watch it?”

“You got a DVD of you jumping out of a plane?”  he asked.

This was getting ridiculous.  He followed me inside where we watched the five minute DVD of my jump.

“Wow, Becky.  If you didn’t have that DVD, I never would have believed you.”

“Thanks,” I said.

“So you jumped out of a plane and didn’t tell me?  I would’ve gone with you!” he said.

I can’t win with this kid….

Want to try it?  Check out http://www.skydivetheranch.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

